Sauter Wins At Bristol 8.16.18


Johnny Sauter sealed the 2018 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regular-season championship Thursday at Bristol Motor Speedway. Sauter, ahead by 56 points entering Thursday’s UNOH 200, clinched the crown just by starting the regular-season finale. He qualified fourth behind pole winner Christopher Bell at the .533-mile track.

The Wisconsin native then went out and took home the checkered flag for his fifth victory of the 2018 season.

Sauter, who built a substantial lead in the standings by winning four of the first eight races of the season, captured his first Truck Series title in 2016. He was the series’ runner-up in 2011 and 2017.

Here is a look at the full field of eight drivers for the seven-race postseason, complete with point totals and wins:
1. Johnny Sauter (2,042 points; Wins at Daytona, Dover, Charlotte, Texas and Bristol)
2. Brett Moffitt (2,027 points; Wins at Atlanta, Iowa, Chicago and Michigan)
3. Noah Gragson (2,022 points; Won at Kansas)
4. Ben Rhodes (2,014 points; Won at Kentucky)
5. Stewart Friesen (2,012 points; qualified on points)
6. Grant Enfinger (2,011 points; qualified on points)
7. Justin Haley (2,009 points; Won at Gateway)
8. Matt Crafton (2,003 points; qualified on points)

The Truck Series Playoffs kick off at 2:30 p.m. ET Sunday, Aug. 26, in the Chevrolet Silverado 250 at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park (FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).